Welcome to the Accounting LibGuide!
Recent Taxation News
Recent information from the Wall Street Journal Tax column by Herman:
Library Hours
Monday 8:00am – 11:00pm
Tuesday 8:00am – 11:00pm
Wednesday 8:00am – 11:00pm
Thursday 8:00am – 11:00pm
Friday 8:00am – 5:00pm
Saturday 1:00pm – 5:00pm
Sunday 3:00pm – 10:00pm
Ask A Librarian
If you have any questions, fill out your name, status (undergraduate, graduate, faculty, staff, administration, alumnus or alumnae), email, and your question, and we will respond to your request during normal hours of operation.
Research Appointment Request
To request an appointment for various types of assistance, either for article, database, or book/eBook assistance, and one-on-one assistance or group project assistance, fill out the request form here.
Types of Resources
There are several types of information available to students through the Benjamin F. Payton Learning Resources Center, both in print form and electronically. Details provided on the different types of resources are listed below:
| Books | You can find a wealth of resources in the library's book collection, including tens of thousands of ebooks. A book can provide detailed background information on a topic. |
| Reference Books | Encyclopedias, atlases, dictionaries, etc. are considered reference sources. Access these types of resources when you need to find definitions, biographies, overviews, and historical information. |
| Articles | Articles can be found in journals, magazines, or newspapers. Articles can vary in scope, but usually fall into one of two categories: scholarly and popular. |
| Web Sites | The internet can provide a wealth of information, especially from government sources and professional organizations. Be sure to carefully evaluate the information found here. |
Accounting Apps
Apps (little software applications) allow you to customize your tablet to do the things you like to do. Some of the apps listed are free, while others are fee-based. Additionally, some apps are initially free, and then require in-app purchases if more features and functionality are desired. Listed, you will find some app recommendations we have come up with through trial, error, and our own experiences.
Benjamin F. Payton Learning Resources Center does not endorse any fee-based apps nor it is liable for reimbursement of any apps paid for by patrons. Please refer to the Tablet Circulation Policy for further details.
Basic Accounting-Provides good coverage of basic accounting information including balance sheets, formulae, and various statements. (Android)
Kashoo-Allows you to create and send invoices, record and manage expenses, organize your taxes, instantly pull financial reports—all in realtime, always in sync. (iOS)
Accounting Dictionary-Lite-Includes over 4,300 accountancy terms, abbreviations, and definitions. (Android)
Accounting Calculator-A calculator app that includes all of the basic functions needed to do accounting. (Android)
What is Accounting
Subject Guide
Benedict College
1600 Harden Street
Columbia, SC 29204
PASCAL Delivers
If the Library does not have a book you desire, through PASCAL Delivers you may be able to acquire the book within 3 to 5 business days.
To make your request, go to the ‘Online Catalog Search’ and SIGN-IN using your Benedict College email and password.
Type the book title in the search box of the Online Catalog, press Enter and go to the right and select ‘PASCAL Delivers.’ Click on the magnifying glass symbol.
Choose a book title with the words ‘Check for Availability’ beneath. Click on the title.
On the next page, click on ‘Request via PASCAL Delivers.’
On the following page, at the bottom of the screen, click on ‘Send Request.’ The title will be automatically submitted, and you will receive a message in your BC email confirming the PASCAL Delivers request.
When your book arrives, you will be contacted through your BC email account and/or by the phone number you provided.
If you need a book that is not accessible via the Online Catalog, or PASCAL Delivers, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan Services (ILL). The Interlibrary Loan form can be accessed from the Library’s webpage. www.benedict.edu/library/