Remote Access to Databases
How to Access Electronic Databases (online journal articles)
Research databases can help you find information in peer-reviewed journals as well as newspapers, and government documents, and other sources. Search alphabetically by subject or select ALL PURPOSE which encompasses ALL-ACADEMIC DISCIPLINES.
To access the Benedict College Library webpage, go to: https://www.benedict.edu/library/
To access the library’s ELECTRONIC DATABASES, please adhere to the following steps:
- Login in with your Benedict email address which is Username:
(Enter) First name. Last name last (and) last two digits of ID# (and) @my.benedict.edu
- EXAMPLE: Doe66@my.benedict.edu
- Type Password which is: Tigers with the last 4 digits of social security number.
- EXAMPLE: Tigers1234
- Press enter and resources will open.
For EBSCOhost databases only, you are required to do ONE ADDITIONAL STEP:
- Scroll down and Click “EBSCOhost Web”
Biology Databases
- Academic Search PremierDesigned specifically for academic institutions, Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for more than 4,600 journals, including nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.
- Consumer Health CompleteConsumer Health Complete supports the information needs of patients and fosters an overall understanding of health-related topics. This resource provides content covering all key areas of health and wellness, from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary and holistic medicine.
- EOL: Encyclopedia of LifeThe EOL mission is to increase awareness and understanding of living nature through an Encyclopedia of Life that gathers, generates, and shares knowledge in an open, freely accessible and trusted digital resource.
- General Science Full TextThis database provides full-text articles from a wide range of publications — from specialized to general interest periodicals — covering science-related questions, topics and subjects.
- Health Source-Consumer EditionThis rich collection of consumer health information provides access to full-text consumer health magazines and reference books. It also includes searchable full text for current health pamphlets.
- Health Source-Nursing/Academic EditionHealth Source: Nursing/Academic Edition is a trusted full-text database covering nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more.
- MedlineCreated by the United States National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE is an authoritative bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals used by health care professionals, nurses, clinicians, and researchers.
- MedlinePlusMedlinePlus originated in 1998; National Library of Medicine's selective list of authoritative health information sources from the National Institutes of Health and other government and professional organizations in the U.S. Updated nightly, it has over 4,000 articles on various diseases, symptoms, drugs and procedures, as well as interactive health tutorials, research news, local resources, directories of hospitals and physicians, clinical trials and links to Medline for journal citations
- Network of the National Library of Medicine (NNLM)The mission of the Network of the National Library of Medicine (NNLM) is to advance the progress of medicine and improve the public health by providing all U.S. health professionals with equal access to biomedical information and improving the public's access to information to enable them to make informed decisions about their health. The Program is coordinated by the National Library of Medicine and carried out through a nationwide network of health science libraries and information centers.
- Network of the National Library of Medicine (NNLM)The mission of the Network of the National Library of Medicine (NNLM) is to advance the progress of medicine and improve the public health by providing all U.S. health professionals with equal access to biomedical information and improving the public's access to information to enable them to make informed decisions about their health. The Program is coordinated by the National Library of Medicine and carried out through a nationwide network of health science libraries and information centers.
- PubMed.govPubMed comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.