ESports Administration LibGuide: Databases

• Recognizing ESports as a Sport

• Is Labeling eSports a Sport Good for the Sports Profession?

• eSports Articles in The Sport Digest

• Coach of UA's New Varsity eSports Program is Game to Answer Questions

• Female Gamers, No Strangers to Online Harassment, Learn Ways to Combat Discrimination During Summer Camp at UCI

• Rising Stars: All-women's Stephens College Breaks Ground with Varsity eSports Program

• League of Legends global power rankings: Preseason

• Number of Players Selected eSports Games Worldwide as of August 2017 (in million)

• Overwatch League Preseason Power Rankings

• The 10 Highest Earners in League of Legends

• Who are the highest-earning esports players?

• Academic Search Premier - Designed specifically for academic institutions, Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary full-text database containing full text for more than 4,600 journals, including nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.

• Access Business News - This Web-based resource consolidates current and archived content from the complete, full-text electronic editions of business and law journals, local and regional business newsweeklies, newspapers, and other news sources. It extensively covers industries, markets, companies, executives, and products to meet the needs of a wide range of patrons

• Access World News: USA - is a full-text news resource consisting of local, regional, national and international sources. Updated daily, it offers researchers and students primary source information on today's issues and events from newspapers, newswires, transcripts, video clips, web-only, and blogs. Provides comprehensive news and information on different perspectives on a wide variety of topics, including economics, business, political science, environmental issues, health and welfare topics, social problems, consumer affairs, education, local government, international affairs and defense, laws, sports and much more. Offering a variety of perspectives from all over the world, the important news sources in this collection are ideal for comparing and contrasting views on both local and global issues.

• Business Source Premier - Business Source Premier features full text and searchable cited references for top journals covering a variety of business disciplines. Subjects Include Accounting, Finance, Economics, Marketing, Management, Management information systems, Operations management.

• ERIC - ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education, it is an essential tool for education researchers of all kinds.

• EBSCO Discovery Service -  (EDS) provides access to your library’s entire collection through the most relevant and precise search results. EDS supports searching of content from full-text databases, citation databases and content collections such as library catalogs and other locally-managed digital collections. The integrated search experience is achieved by compiling and indexing metadata from a variety of content sources into a unified pre-indexed search platform that offers exceptionally fast end-user search responses. 

• Education Full Text - is a research database for education students, professionals and policymakers. It includes full-text education journals that cover the essentials of education and related fields of study, including in-depth coverage of special education.

• Esports Research Network - The Esports Research Network was founded on the 7th July 2019 at the ESL One Cologne Event by researchers from Tampere University, Jönköping University, and the University of Siegen. This network was formed to foster future research collaborations. The goal is to connect researchers around the world and create a meeting point for researchers and practitioners. Thereby the Esports Research Network is open for anybody and is an interdisciplinary research group that examines the esports phenomenon.

• IDEAS - is the largest bibliographic database dedicated to Economics and available freely on the Internet. Based on RePEc, it indexes over 2,600,000 items of research, including over 2,400,000 that can be downloaded in full text.

• Inside Higher Ed-eSports - Search for news and articles about eSports.

• Science Reference Center- Designed to meet every student researcher's needs, Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science magazines, journals, encyclopedias, reference books and a vast collection of images.

  Designed to meet every student researcher's needs, Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science magazines, journals, encyclopedias, reference books and a vast collection of images. 

• SPORTdiscus- SPORTDiscus with Full text is the definitive database for sports and sports medicine research. Providing hundreds of full-text sports medicine journals, it is an essential tool for health professionals and researchers studying fitness, health, and sports. Subjects covered include nutrition, physical therapy, occupational health, exercise physiology, and kinesiology.

• WorldCat.org- is the world's largest network of library content and services. WorldCat libraries are dedicated to providing access to their resources on the Web, where most people start their search for information.
  WorldCat.org lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world. WorldCat grows every day thanks to the efforts of librarians and other information professionals.

How to Access Electronic Databases (online journal articles)

Research databases can help you find information in peer-reviewed journals as well as newspapers, and government documents, and other sources. Search alphabetically by subject or select ALL PURPOSE which encompasses ALL-ACADEMIC DISCIPLINES.

To access the Benedict College Library webpage, go to:  https://www.benedict.edu/library/

To access the library’s ELECTRONIC DATABASES, please adhere to the following steps: 

• Login in with your Benedict email address which is Username:

 (Enter) First name. Last name last (and) last two digits of ID# (and) @my.benedict.edu

• EXAMPLE: Doe66@my.benedict.edu
• Type Password which is: Tigers with the last 4 digits of social security number.
• EXAMPLE: Tigers1234
• Press enter and resources will open.

For EBSCOhost databases only, you are required to do ONE ADDITIONAL STEP:

• Scroll down and Click “EBSCOhost Web”