Electrical Engineering Libguide: OER Resources

• BC Open Textbooks

  BCcampus OpenEd includes a wide variety of business textbooks, many peer-reviewed by BC faculty.

• Business Fundamentals

  Business Fundamentals was developed by the Global Text Project, which is working to create open-content electronic textbooks that are freely available.

• Lumen Learning - Business

  Lumen Learning provides five Business textbooks covering Finance, Economics, Marketing and Management. Click the Business tab on the left sidebar to go directly to these textbook options.

• MERLOT

  Merlot includes over 90 business titles on a variety of topics.

• OER Commons - Business and Communications

  OER Commons provides a curated collection of history textbooks.

• Open Textbook Library

  The Benedict College's Open Textbook Library includes over 30 Business Administration titles.

Electricity and Electronics

• Voltage, Current, Resistance, and Basic Circuit Concepts, from the ModEL Project. This document contains a complete tutorial and problem sets designed to teach you the basic principles of electricity and electric circuits. I recommend all students struggling with circuit analysis to begin with this learning module, as it endeavors to clear many common misconceptions of electricity. The basis of this entire learning module series is an emphasis on "first principles" of physics, especially the Laws of Energy, Charge, and Mass conservation.
• Sources and Loads, Voltmeters and Ammeters, from the ModEL Project. This document contains a complete tutorial and problem sets designed to teach you how to view electric circuit components as either sources of energy or loads of energy. These concepts are extremely helpful in circuit analysis, as well as in circuit design and interconnections between components.
• Ohm's and Joule's Laws, Resistor Ratings, and Electrical Safety, from the ModEL Project. This document contains a complete tutorial and problem sets designed to teach you Ohm's and Joule's Laws as they relate to simple circuits. These concepts serve well as preludes to the important topic of electrical safety.
• Diagnostic Fundamentals, from the ModEL Project. This document contains a complete tutorial and problem sets designed to teach you how to scientifically diagnose basic circuit faults (opens and shorts).
• Series DC circuits, from the Socratic Electronics project. This worksheet helps teach the concepts of series electrical circuits using DC power sources.
• Series Circuits and Voltage Dividers, from the ModEL Project. This document contains a complete tutorial and problem sets designed to teach you how to analyze series DC circuits. Like all the other ModEL learning modules, this one stongly emphasizes "first principles" of Energy and Charge Conservation as a basis for understanding voltage, current, and resistance in circuits.
• Parallel DC circuits, from the Socratic Electronics project. This worksheet helps teach the concepts of parallel electrical circuits using DC power sources.
• Parallel Circuits and Current Dividers, from the ModEL Project. This document contains a complete tutorial and problem sets designed to teach you how to analyze parallel DC circuits. Like all the other ModEL learning modules, this one stongly emphasizes "first principles" of Energy and Charge Conservation as a basis for understanding voltage, current, and resistance in circuits.
• Kirchhoff's Laws, from the Socratic Electronics project. This worksheet helps teach the concepts of Kirchhoff's Voltage and Current Laws as they apply to electrical circuits using DC power sources.
• Kirchhoff's Voltage Law, from the ModEL Project. This document contains a complete tutorial and problem sets designed to explain KVL and how to apply it to simple circuits. Like all the other ModEL learning modules, this one stongly emphasizes "first principles" of Energy and Charge Conservation as a basis for understanding all electrical concepts.
• Kirchhoff's Current Law, from the ModEL Project. This document contains a complete tutorial and problem sets designed to explain KCL and how to apply it to simple circuits. Like all the other ModEL learning modules, this one stongly emphasizes "first principles" of Energy and Charge Conservation as a basis for understanding all electrical concepts.
• Series-parallel DC circuits, from the Socratic Electronics project. This worksheet helps teach the concepts of series-parallel combination electrical circuits using DC power sources.
• Series-Parallel Circuits, from the ModEL Project. This document contains a complete tutorial and problem sets designed to teach you how to analyze series-parallel DC circuits. Like all the other ModEL learning modules, this one stongly emphasizes "first principles" of Energy and Charge Conservation as a basis for understanding voltage, current, and resistance in circuits.
• Qualitative Circuit Analysis, from the ModEL Project. This document contains a complete tutorial and problem sets designed to teach you how to analyze simple circuits without using any mathematical calculations. Like all the other ModEL learning modules, this one stongly emphasizes "first principles" of Energy and Charge Conservation as a basis for understanding voltage, current, and resistance in circuits.
• DC bridge circuits, from the Socratic Electronics project. This worksheet helps teach the concepts of Wheatstone bridge circuits using DC power sources.
• DC circuit calculations
• Transformer circuit calculations
• AC reactive circuit calculations
• Process switches and switch circuits
• Process switches and PLC circuits (this worksheet helps teach and reinforce concepts of normally-open and normally-closed contacts, both real and virtual, and how their statuses relate to each other. This happens to be one of the more challenging concepts to master when learning PLC ladder-diagram programming.)
• Pictorial circuit diagrams (this worksheet helps teach and reinforce concepts of wiring components together that are not drawn in neat, organized, schematic form -- an essential concept to master for performing actual device wiring on the job!)
• Basic circuit troubleshooting, from the Socratic Electronics project. This worksheet helps teach the effects of open connections in simple DC circuits, especially with regard to the presence or absence of voltage between specified test points.
• Basic troubleshooting strategies, from the Socratic Electronics project. This worksheet helps teach effective diagnostic strategies applicable to electrical circuits as well as other systems.
• Fault analysis of simple circuits (this worksheet helps teach how to assess the likelihood of different faults in simple electrical circuits -- an essential concept to master for performing troubleshooting on the job!)
• Three-phase AC circuits (this worksheet helps teach how to calculate voltage, current, and power quantities in three-phase AC circuits)